Special Libraries Association

Categorized | News

Second #SLAtalk scheduled on April 9th

“#SLAtalk: What would you tell your past MLIS-student self?”

The second #SLAtalk seeks participation from all information professionals as well as current students at graduate schools of library and information science.

When:
2 choices on Tuesday, April 9th:
Session #1 at 18:30 GMT (1:30 pm Eastern / 10:30 am Pacific)
Session #2 at 00:00 GMT (7:00 pm Eastern / 4:00 pm Pacific)

Questions to Answer:

  1. What subjects or skills do you wish you were taught or exposed to in LIS school?
    -Session #1: 18:30 – 18:45 GMT
    -Session #2: 00:00 – 00:15 GMT
  2. What was your favorite class or project in LIS school? How have you applied what you learned to your career?
    -Session #1: 18:45 – 19:00 GMT
    -Session #2: 00:15 – 00:30 GMT
  3. What formal supplemental education, if any, have you pursued after LIS school?
    -Session #1: 19:00 – 19:15 GMT
    -Session #2: 00:30 – 00:45 GMT
  4. What recommendations would you give an LIS school student?
    -Session #1: 19:15 – 19:30 GMT
    -Session #2: 00:45 – 01:00 GMT

Prepare with some light reading:

Preparing Future Professionals through Broad Competency Planning,” from the Jan/Feb ’12 issue of Information Outlook.
Not an SLA member? To access these articles, join SLA, or contact the association to receive temporary access.

Check out “How to #SLAtalk” for helpful tips, as well as the recap of the first installment to see example-tweets from several participants.

Following the session:
Check the SLA Blog post after the #SLAtalk, where we’ll post some of the best ideas that you all have tweeted. Notice your tweet being favorited from @SLAhq?
Your handle and tweet will be posted to the SLA Blog!

Comments are closed.

Thank You to our 2018 Conference Sponsors

ARC Document Solutions (Silver Sponsor)

EBSCO (Silver Sponsor)

ProQuest (Silver Sponsor)

ELSEVIER (Breakfast Sponsor)

IEEE XPlore Digital Library (Sponsor)

University of South Florida (Table Sponsor)