Special Libraries Association

Categorized | News

New #SLAtalk on June 4th: Teach your users to fish

Our fourth #SLAtalk session will take place Tuesday, June 4th, and will be jointly hosted by SLA and ProQuest & Dialog. They’re sponsoring the social media lounge at SLA 2013, and we’re pleased to have them lending their expertise to this topic.

You’re probably familiar with the Chinese proverb, “Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.” 

As information professionals, it’s imperative that we teach our users to fish. Whether your users are engineers, attorneys, students or even business moguls — how do you connect them with your resources? What instructional tactics do you employ to teach research skills that will last users a lifetime? 

When:

2 choices on Tuesday, June 4th:

-Session #1 at 17:30 UTC (1:30 PM eastern / 10:30 AM pacific)

-Session #2 at 12:00 midnight UTC (7:00 PM eastern / 4:00 PM pacific)
           Great Britain is one hour ahead of UTC during summer.

 

Questions to Answer:

1. How do you create awareness and promote your organization’s available resources to your users?

-First 15 minutes

2. How is resource training handled in your library or info center, for new and/or existing employees?

-Second 15 minutes

3. For fee-based resources, how do you educate your users on the costs associated with research?

-Third 15 minutes

4. Do you have any tips or tricks on how to turn a reference inquiry into a “teachable moment?”

-Last 15 minutes

 

In the spirit of organization:

Try to tweet your answers to question 1 during the first 15-minutes of your session, answers to question 2 in the second 15-minutes of your session, and so on. You can take your queue to move on from the @SLAhq handle, which will tweet the appropriate question at the start of each 15-minute interval.


New to twitter chats?

Check out How to #SLAtalk and the recaps of the first and second sessions.

Comments are closed.

Thank You to our 2018 Conference Sponsors

ARC Document Solutions (Silver Sponsor)

EBSCO (Silver Sponsor)

ProQuest (Silver Sponsor)

ELSEVIER (Breakfast Sponsor)

IEEE XPlore Digital Library (Sponsor)

University of South Florida (Table Sponsor)